Governance – Directors & Advisory Board

Boundary Oak is now part of the international school group, Globeducate. The school will be governed by a Board of Directors that sets and reviews the policies, plans and procedures that will ensure the best possible education for present and future pupils, including the proper control of its finances.

The Directors’ duties are to protect the assets of the school and to ensure that it is diligently and well run. The Chair of the Board of Directors is James Polansky

Directors are expected to exercise independent judgement with reasonable care and diligence. They have to act fairly and in a manner that protects the reputation of the school.

It is their duty to keep in mind the interests of pupils, staff and parents, as well as that of the community.

They ensure that the school complies with the law, is solvent and complies with the financial regulations. It must be adequately insured against possible public and employers’ liability (including Directors’ liability) claims. The Directors must declare any personal interest in any transaction or arrangement proposed by the school, to avoid conflicts of interest and not to accept benefits from interested third parties.

Board of Directors

  • Daniel Jones – Chief Education Officer, Globeducate
  • James PolanskyCEO of Portugal and UK, Globeducate
  • Sophie Savage – Head of School, Boundary Oak School

The directors are in regular contact with each other and, as a private company, are able to make decisions swiftly. They have a wide range of knowledge in both education and business and are able to call upon further advisors if required.  

An Advisory Board has been created, to which specific tasks have been delegated, their terms of reference, being:To advise the Board of Directors on the general strategy for Boundary Oak for it to achieve its objectives.

  • The Advisory Board will meet to hear reports on current plans and development activity and to hear from invited guests about their views on future priorities and key issues in policy and practice.
  • To provide a formal link between the Head and the Directors so that the Board of Directors can maintain an overview of all aspects of the educational aims and performance of the School.

Annual Proprietor Reports at twice-yearly Advisory Board meetings provide the members and Directors with detailed information about the School’s successes and challenges for the future. The Head’s termly report includes summaries from all school areas, which give the members and Directors a clear view of the School’s academic, pastoral and co-curricular provision. Heads of Departments, Heads of Division, and SMT members meet regularly with the Advisory Board member responsible for Educational Delivery within the Globeducate group of schools and present on their subject area or aspect of school life. This visit includes observing lessons and/or learning walks.

At board meetings, Directors debate all aspects of school life carefully and participate in relevant training. Safeguarding and welfare, health and safety are given particular emphasis at board meetings. The Directors have specific responsibility for reviewing Boundary Oak’s safeguarding policy annually and for maintaining a suitable accessibility plan for those pupils with special educational needs.

Advisory Board Members

  • Daniel Jones – Chief Education Officer, Globeducate
  • Mike Farrer – CEO of Portugal and UK, Globeducate
  • James Polansky – UK Director of Operations, Globeducate
  • Sophie Savage – Head of School, Boundary Oak School
  • Paddy Jansen – Chief Operating Officer, Globeducate
  • Katherine Tyler – Safeguarding and Welfare Officer, Globeducate
  • Oanh Crouch – Director of Education, Globeducate
  • Joey Burgess –  Principal, Blossom House School

Boundary Oak is a member of the following associations:

  • Independent Schools’ Council – ISC
  • Independent Schools’ Association- ISA
  • Independent Schools’ Bursar Association- ISBA
  • British Boarding Schools’ Association- BSA

Visit Us Request a Prospectus Call us today